P.O.T.S.

Standard

There are a few reasons why I don’t work. One being that my husband and I decided that I would stay home with our baby until he is old enough to go to school. Another reason why I don’t work is because of something I was diagnosed with in August of 2010. P.O.T.S., or postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome, is an autonomic nervous system disorder. One of the most common traits of P.O.T.S. is fainting. Upon moving from laying down to sitting up/standing up, my blood pressure will drop and heart rate will go really high. I have to be careful when I get up, how long I stand up, I have to take medicines to manage this, drink lots of water every day, and eat lots of salt (I’m okay with this, I love salt). In addition to writing about life as a stay-at-home-mom, I will write about life with P.O.T.S. as well. It is not a well known condition in the U.S., but hopefully I can help bring more awareness to it.

2 responses »

  1. Hi. I also have POTS and am thinking about having a family more and more lately. I’m having a little bit of a relapse at the moment but nothing too serious; I’ve been worse. It would be nice to get to know a mum with POTS. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

