Chili Recipes

Standard

People who know me know that I like to cook and that I love spicy food. Just like how my son usually screams when I’m cooking, he’s screaming at me while I type about cooking. Of course he would. Right now he’s screaming at the T.V., at me, and at the air in general. He also keeps saying, “Oh.” Now if I could just get him to say, “Uh oh,” then that would be true awesomeness. Anyways, I have several different recipes that I would like to share with all of you.

Today’s recipes will both be chili with beans. There is a reason why I add, “with beans,” to that statement. Traditionally, chili is made with out beans. Go figure. It turned my world upside down the first time I heard that, too. I mean it was just like, “Chili doesn’t usually have beans? What? How is this possible? Next you’re gonna tell me that the sky is orange or that Santa Claus isn’t real!” I may or may not have been about 7 or 8 years old when I learned this about chili. Anywhoo, I will give you 2 recipes: spicy chili and sweet and spicy chili.

First, you will need to gather some essential tools:

Heat source (you know, like a stove or some fire or something)

Cooking pot (as opposed to a non-cooking pot)

Wooden spoon (in all seriousness, try to use a wooden spoon, because it doesn’t taint the taste of the chili)

Can opener (get one that works, not a $16 one that will break the first time you use it-again, I may or may not have had this happen to me once…or three times)

Non-stick cooking spray (in order to be somewhat healthy, I normally use the olive oil cooking spray)

Spicy Chili

Food Ingredients:

1 pound ground beef (ground turkey works fine, and I’m sure tofu or morning star beef would work for my vegetarian friends)

2 McCormick’s regular or spicy chili seasoning (I use the spicy)

1 regular size can of spicy Rotel diced tomatoes (it’s always better to use fresh tomatoes, onions and peppers, but this is quicker)

1 tiny can of Hunt’s tomato paste (you’ll only use half of it)

2 cans of pinto beans*

1 can of black beans*

1 can of dark red kidney beans*

1 can of light red kidney beans*

*Again, it’s always better to cook these from scratch, but this way is quicker. You can use whatever bean combination you want. Sometimes I use more black beans, sometimes more pinto beans.

Salt

Pepper

Red cayenne pepper

Garlic salt

garlic powder

onion powder

Chili powder (I use the mexican-style hot chili powder)

Paprika

Ground sage

First, spray the pot that you will be cooking chili in. Next, I would go ahead and open up all of the cans so that you are prepared. Set out all of your spices as well. Brown the beef at high temperature. Add some salt and pepper while it is cooking (it helps with flavor). When the meat is just about finished cooking, add the 2 packs of chili seasoning and stir it. Once the meat is done, add the beans, rotel, and about half the can of tomato paste. You may need to add a little bit of water at this point. Next, except for the sage, add the rest of the spices. A good base to start with is by counting one-one thousand to five-one thousand for each spice. After that, add just a little bit of sage. Put a not even a pinch amount on your palm and scrape it into the pot. Stir all of the spices, lower the temperature to a medium setting, cover the pot, and walk away for about 10 or 15 minutes. Go outside to get your nose away from the smell. When you come back to the kitchen, smell the air to see if you missed anything. If smelling doesn’t work for you, just taste the chili to see what you need to add. I usually wind up adding generous amounts of cayenne pepper and some more salt. Once you get your chili to the taste you would like, it’s done! Enjoy!

Sweet and Spicy Chili

Food ingredients:

1 pound ground beef (ground turkey works fine, and I’m sure tofu or morning star beef would work for my vegetarian friends)

1 half pound of either pinto beans or black beans or a mixture of both (this will have to be made in advance. Put the beans in the pot you will use for chili, add water, bring to a boil. After it’s boiled for 3 or 4 minutes, drain the beans, rinse them off, and add them and some water back to the pot. Add some salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder. Cook until done-usually takes 2 1/2 to 3 hours.)

1 large size can of Rotel diced tomatoes (it’s always better to use fresh tomatoes, onions and peppers, but this is quicker)

1 regular size can of Hunt’s tomato sauce (get creative and use their different types of sauce)

Salt

Pepper

Red cayenne pepper

Garlic salt

garlic powder

onion powder

Chili powder (I use the mexican-style hot chili powder)

Paprika

Ground sage

Sugar

After your beans are done cooking (keep these on a medium temperature if you are going to be cooking the chili as soon as these are done), brown the meat in a skillet. Use salt, pepper, and red cayenne pepper to season the beef while it is cooking. Once the beef is done, and it to the beans. Next, add the diced tomatoes and tomato sauce.You may or may not need to add some water once you do this. Then add all of the spices except for the sage. You can add them by counting from one-one thousand to five-one thousand while adding them. When you add the sage, put not even a pinch of it on your palm and scrape into the chili. Stir everything together, cover the pot, and walk away for about 10 minutes. When you come back, taste to see what other spices you need to add. I usually add more cayenne pepper and sugar at this point. Once you get it to taste how you like it, then it is done! Enjoy!

You can add more meat, beans, or rotel if you need to for both of these recipes. What I’ve written here are more guidelines than strict recipes. Make it your own!

chili

3 responses »

  1. I like your style of recipe blogging
    as it is both informative and nicely
    done, actually I could just eat some
    right now 🙂 Yummy…

    Have a fun rest of morning and
    a wicked afternoon and evening 🙂
    Wicked as in a good one 🙂

    Androgoth

    Like

Leave a Reply

