Football and Birthing a Baby

Standard

I grew up being a fan of football, college football to be precise. Even more specifically, the Southeastern Conference (SEC). Being from Alabama, and not wanting to be a traitor to my state by being a fan of Auburn University, my loyalty lies to the University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa (Roll Tide). It just so happened that the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) football game for the 2011-2012 season was scheduled on January 9, 2012.

Since I am such a fan of football, it was surprising to some of my friends that I didn’t pay much attention later on in the season (especially since Alabama was having a pretty darn good season). You see, my husband had deployed earlier in 2011, and we found out that I was pregnant two weeks before he left [which explained why I cried at Applebee’s when my husband ordered traditional buffalo wings (I had told him to get boneless, I went to the restroom and came back to find he got traditional)]. So I was very pregnant by this time and didn’t care much about football at this point. Also, I learned by then that I got very emotional with food, as my friend, Jamie, can tell you.

My pregnancy was not so awesome at times. Before I got to the halfway point (20 weeks) I was put on bedrest for 22 hours a day. Not fun. I was supposed to squeeze eating, bathing, and going to the bathroom into two hours a day. If you know anything about pregnancy, then you will know that pregnant women pee. A lot. I also had morning sickness that lasted all day and night for about half of my pregnancy (I lost 14 pounds by the time the morning sickness went away). Football was definitely not on my mind. If it wasn’t for the support system from my husband even though he was away, the support system I had here (thanks, Jamie and Amber), the support system of my friends I made in Texas (thanks, Caitlin, Jess, Phatsy, Sarah, and Tracey), and the support system of my family and friends back home (thanks, Shawna), I would have not only lost my mind, but wouldn’t have been able to find it again.

I was coming to the end of my pregnancy and found out that I was going to be induced at 39 weeks (this was for a few different reasons). Thankfully, it happened to fall at the exact same time that my husband would be home for his two weeks of R&R. In fact, he arrived just a few days before we had our first baby. My induction date was on January 9, 2012. Towards the end of the year in 2011, I found out that Alabama might just make it to the BCS championship game. My family, especially my brother, were excited at the possibility that my baby would be born on game day and that Alabama would win.

January 8, 2012 came around before I knew it. My husband and I went to the hospital that night to start the induction process. How they started the process with me was to insert a balloon type thing that would do some stuff and start the labor process. They had issues with getting it inserted and, about two hours later, we were on our way home. Because I was in so much pain, my husband drove about 20 m.p.h. the entire way home. They told me that it would probably be a couple of hours before my balloon came out, and they also told me to get something to eat and to just relax until I saw them the next morning (relax, yeah…right). As soon as I got home I had to go pee. Of course. Well, the balloon came out right then and there, and something clicked in my head that I was having labor pains. Yes, I am a smart one.

The next morning, January 9, 2012, my husband and I arrived at the hospital. A little while later my friend, Jamie, arrived as well. Even with the labor inducing drugs, things were moving slowly. It turned out that my nurse was from Louisiana and that he was a big time Louisiana State University (LSU) football fan (his wife would later be my nurse in the maternity ward). Talk about a small world, because Alabama and LSU were playing each other in the championship game. You had better believe that the game was definitely on in my delivery room. Good times, but, sadly, no buffalo wings. Siiiiiiiigh.

From the time I got there to soon before the game started not only did my water break, but, becuase I threw up my apple juice, it was time to push. Sadly, it was also time for my nurse to go home. After 50 minutes of trying to push and then having a vacuum suction to get my baby out (he had turned in the birth canal and got his cord wrapped around his neck a couple of times) and trying my hardest not to yell at my doctor, my baby was born. Just before halftime in the Alabama game. There were some issues afterwards, including my doc and the other staff watching the game while all of this was going on (can’t say that I blame them, even though we weren’t/aren’t even in the South), and it was at then end of the 4th quarter when I realized that Alabama was not only winning, but had won the championship game. (I may or may not have rubbed it into my nurse from the previous day when I saw him again, but he was a really great nurse and so was his wife.)

As much as I didn’t want my son’s birth to be associated with the game, he is now forever connected with it. Roll Tide!

Leave a Reply

