Bullies

Standard

Today’s post will be a rant. Have you noticed how much the media has been throwing around the word bully lately? It is getting ridiculous. Even if someone doesn’t agree with another’s politics, that person is a bully. I’ve read some articles over the past year or so calling someone who stood up for himself/herself a bully and the actual bully a victim. The true victim just snapped.

Don’t get  me wrong, there are some nasty bullies out there in the world. I have had my fair experience with bullies most of my life, but at least I’m not a wimp about it or expect any compensation. People have spread rumors behind my back, called me names, and just made my life a misery when even my home life was awful. Only a few people even now know what was going on with me when I was a teenager and back. However, I don’t lose sleep over it now. The way I learned how to deal with it was to just be indifferent towards the bullies. I actually feel sorry for them, because apparently their lives sucked so much that they had to try to bring me down to make them feel better. (Weird how some think their lives are so awful when their parents won’t let them run wild and crazy. They don’t even realize or care that some of their classmates have alcoholic/drug addicted parents, are in extreme poverty, and/or are living in fear whenever they go home.)

My point to all of this is that the majority of people get teased at some point in their lives. Don’t always be so quick to judge that a person is a bully. Bullies never will go away, they will always be around. Teach your kids to stand up for themselves and to take responsibility for their own actions. Another reason why I just tried to grin and bear the bullies around me was that I didn’t know what it was like for them at home. Knowing how bad my home life was made me try to keep in mind that they may have it worse than me. I’m not giving excuses for their behavior. No matter how bad your life is, it is never the right way to take it out on someone else.

Revenge is never the answer. “Repay no one evil for evil. Have regard for good things in the sight of all men. 18 If it is possible, as much as depends on you, live peaceably with all men. 19 Beloved, do not avenge yourselves, but rather give place to wrath; for it is written, ‘Vengeance is Mine, I will repay,’ says the Lord. 20 Therefore ‘If your enemy is hungry, feed him; If he is thirsty, give him a drink; For in so doing you will heap coals of fire on his head.’ 21 Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.” Romans 12:17-21 (NKJV) Don’t have hate in your heart. Always leave the door open to the one that wronged you for his or her reconciliation. Having hate in your heart will only bring you down and will eventually make you no better than a bully. Forgiveness is good for the soul.

Leave a Reply

