Beef Jerky Without a Dehydrator

Standard

I love me some food. I love me some jerky. Even though I’ve tweaked it a bit, it’s based on a recipe my mom gave me. Yes, I am too cheap to buy a dehydrator. (Is it just me or do just about all the recipes you see on Bing, Google, and Yahoo involve dehydrators?)

Tools you’ll need:

Oven

Disposable pizza pans (it may stain your reusable pizza pans)

Knife

Ingredients:

Brisket or flank steak-1 package

Liquid smoke (my favorite to use is the hickory flavored Colgrin brand, but mesquite is fine, too)- you may find this in the BBQ Sauce/Ketchup isle

Salt

Red cayenne pepper

Garlic powder

Onion powder

Partially freeze the meat. Pre-heat the oven to 250-350 degrees (depending on altitude-I do 350). While you’re waiting for the oven to heat up, cut the brisket into somewhat thin slices and along the grain of the meat. Once finished, pour all of the spices and half the amount of liquid smoke you’re going to use on the meat (I use up all of the liquid smoke, but I really love me some flavor). Whenever the first hour or so is up, flip the meat over and pour however much more liquid smoke you want over the meat. Put the meat in the oven for another hour. It may take longer depending on altitude (I’m at 6,000 ft above sea level and a total of three hours works for me). See, it isn’t so hard. Enjoy! 🙂

 

62101_10151253943350957_354216776_n 860253_10151252913335957_1598901179_o

Leave a Reply

