Breastmilk or Formula?

Standard

Today is another rant post. I am so sick of the breast milk versus formula argument. People just need to chill out and let parents do whatever they think is best. If someone decides to formula feed because she just feels so awkward breastfeeding, why would people care? Or if someone decides to formula feed because of medication (like me), then you definitely shouldn’t care. If someone decides to still breastfeed their toddler until he or she is 3, you shouldn’t care (but breastfeeding a 12-year-old, in a story I read before, is just too much).

When I was pregnant with my son, I tried to get off of my medications, but I couldn’t. My body needs them to regulate my blood pressure and my heart rate. At one point in my pregnancy, the doctors were debating on whether or not taking him out at 31 or 34 weeks because his body was being affected by medication. By the grace of God, my son beat what they thought was wrong and is perfectly healthy. However, I was not going to breastfeed him and make my medications still be introduced into his body. I was literally afraid of something happening to him. So, after discussing it with my husband, we decided that formula would be the best route for him. He is healthy, he is smart, and he is way ahead of other babies his age and some babies even older than him. Other people have asked why I didn’t get breast milk from one of those storage banks. There was no way I would allow a strangers breast milk to enter my son’s body, that’s just how I am.

Honestly, I felt like a horrible mom for feeding him formula. All I ever heard while pregnant was how awful moms are who feed their babies formula, how dare I not feed him at least someone’s breast milk, or how I am basically killing my son and making him exposed to so many diseases by not breastfeeding him. I’m sorry, I think it’s more important for me to not re-introduce my medicines to his system. Breastfeeding would take so much more out of me like hydration, energy (that I couldn’t hardly spare anyways), etc. Being a mom is hard, kudos to those who breastfeed. Honestly, I probably would have breastfed, at least a while, were it not for my medicines.

But being berated and others trying to make me and other moms who formula feed feel like crap because we don’t breastfeed is uncalled for. Likewise, moms who are berated for breastfeeding is awful. The bottom line is that you don’t know why a mom chooses to breastfeed or formula feed, and you shouldn’t care. Babies still get the nutrients they need either way and are healthy either way. Yes, babies who are fed formula do get sick and have problems, but so do breastfed babies. Let’s all act like the adults we are and respect one another’s parenting, especially if there is no harm to the child or children. – End rant. (Any degrading comments will not be approved.)

5 responses »

  1. You are so right. We shouldn’t be attacking each other. We are all momma’s and are doing what is best for our children. That being said, I do think Breastfeeding awareness needs to be upped There is so many people that look at breastfeeding as a disgusting and shameful thing. That needs to change. A mom should be able to breastfeed covered, anywhere and not feel like what she is doing is shameful or awkward.

    Like

  2. I nursed both of mine (daughter 13 months son 16 months). I even pumped milk for a friends baby for a year while I nursed my son.

    That said, I tell people to back the heck off of other moms. We all know breast is best unless you’re uneducated but sometimes it doesn’t work. Sometimes, mom is a better mom when she is not going crazy on hormones that breast milk produce. Sometimes the fear of work can dry her up. Sometimes she had bad support from the lactation consultants. Sometimes she just wants to do with her body what F*&king bloody He&% she wants to and people need to butt out.

    Sorry, stepping down off my soap box.

    x,
    Becca

    Like

Leave a Reply

