Psalm 46:10

Standard

The first part of Psalm 46:10 reads, “Be still, and know that I am God.” As I’ve been struggling with missing my husband, trying to fight postpartum depression, and all of my other ailments, I have to say this verse has calmed me the most. It reminds me to just take a deep breath, put my hands down, and just relax. This reminds me that God is here for me, yes, even me. That He is able, that He is strong, that He is love in its purest form. Not only has He taken care of me, He will continue to do so as long as I follow Him and do His will. Whenever I read this first, it humbles me. I take a deep breath and just let things go, and find comfort in the fact that God is God and He is so much wiser than I am ( “For who has known the mind of the Lord? Or who has become His counselor?” Romans 11:34). God is our strength and refuge, a very present help in times of trouble no matter the difficulties (Ps. 46:2,3). God does want us to just put things down sometimes and to just trust in Him.

If it seems as if your world is caving in, don’t waver in faith in God. Not faith in yourself; not faith in that you’ve seen, done, experienced it all; not because you can keep your composure no matter the strife.  Be still, because of what you know from scripture about God. He will never leave you (Hebrews 13:5; Matthew 28:20).

Don’t forget to be thankful, no matter your circumstances (Ephesians 5:20). Other verses that may help encourage you are: Ephesians 4:6-9; Matthew 6:25-34; Matthew 11:28-30; 2 Corinthians 12:7-10; Psalm 46; Psalm 51; Psalm 55:22; Isaiah 41:10; Proverbs 3:5,6; Psalm 34; John 14:27; etc. If there are any verses that you use for comfort, please share them in the comments section.

Steps to Salvation 1. Hear – Romans 10:17 2. Believe – John 8:24 3. Repent – Luke 13:1-5 4. Confess – Romans 10:10 5. Be Baptized – Acts 2:38 6. Live Faithfully – Revelation 2:10

Leave a Reply

